Acknowledgements

This thesis has been more a culmination of interdisciplinary research and collaboration between colleagues, than a simple foray into unknown territory. I am grateful to my advisor Prof. Duane D. Bruns (University of Tennessee, Chemical Engineering), co-advisor Dr. David W. DePaoli (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), Dr. Wesley J. Hines (University of Tennessee, Nuclear Engineering), Prof. Ke Nguyen (University of Tennessee, Mechanical Engineering), Dr. Stuart Daw (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), Dr. Belle Upadhyaya (University of Tennessee, Nuclear Engineering) among many others who helped kindle ideas and bifurcate to new research directions.

Among my colleagues I would like to acknowledge and thank the solid support of Charles Finney, Mike Brotherton, Andrew Blankenship, Dean Edwards, Sandeep Rajput and Boyce O. Griffith.

I also would like to express my appreciation for the faculty and staff of the Department of Chemical Engineering. They have supported me both on professional and friendship levels. I would like to thank Division of Chemical Sciences, Office of Basic Energy Sciences, U.S. Department of Energy, for their generous funding under contract DE-AC05-00OR22725 with UT-Battelle, LLC.

Lastly I would like to thank my family for giving me a chance to be myself.